People who Contributed to the Project


Special thanks to all participants who gave their time to participate in the Deliberate Poll, and all recorders and group moderators.

Guðbjörg Andrea Jónsdóttir
Director of the Social Science Research Institute

Dr. Guðbjörg Andrea Jónsdóttir (London School of Economics and Political Science, Ph.D. Social Psychology, 2004) is Director of the Social Science Research Institute at the University of Iceland. Prior to that she was Research Director with Gallup in Iceland. Her main research areas are methodology and public opinion, in particular context and order effects in social surveys, wording of questions, mode effects and response rate.  Guðbjörg is a member of the ISSP (International Social Survey Programme), the Icelandic representative in the EVS Council of Program Directors (European Values Study), the Icelandic representative in the ESS ERIC General Assembly (European Social Survey) and she is also a member of the professional associations ESOMAR and ESRA.

Jón Ólafsson
Professor at the University of Iceland

Jón Ólafsson is professor of Cultural Studies at the University of Iceland. His research interests combine cultural theory and political philosophy and his most recent papers deal with political culture, including dissent and protest action; epistemic democracy, democratic engagement and democratic constitutional design. He now leads a research project on Democratic Constitutional Design. Jón has also worked with the Icelandic government on projects on ethics in government. From 2010 to 2013 he led work on ethical codes for government ministers, public servants and state employees, and in 2018 he chaired a working group on trust in government and public service which submitted a report and proposals to the Prime Minister in September 2018.

James S. Fishkin
Director, Center for Deliberative Democracy
Janet M. Peck Chair in International Communication
Professor of Communication
Professor of Political Science (by courtesy)

James S. Fishkin holds the Janet M. Peck Chair in International Communication at Stanford University where he is Professor of Communication, Professor of Political Science (by courtesy) and Director of the Center for Deliberative Democracy. He is the author of Democracy When the People Are Thinking (Oxford 2018), When the People Speak (Oxford 2009), Deliberation Day (Yale 2004 with Bruce Ackerman) and Democracy and Deliberation (Yale 1991). He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Guggenheim Fellow, a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford, and a Visiting Fellow Commoner at Trinity College, Cambridge. His work on deliberative democracy has stimulated more than 100 Deliberative Polls in 28 countries around the world. It has been used to help governments and policy makers make important decisions in Texas, China, Mongolia, Japan, Macau, South Korea, Bulgaria, Brazil, Uganda and other countries around the world.

Alice Siu
Associate Director, Center for Deliberative Democracy

Siu received her Ph.D. from the Department of Communication at Stanford University, with a focus in political communication, deliberative democracy and public opinion, and her B.A. degrees in Economics and Public Policy and M.A. degree in Political Science, also from Stanford.

Siu has advised policymakers and political leaders around the world, at various levels of government, including leaders in China, Brazil, and Argentina. Her research interests in deliberative democracy include what happens inside deliberation, such as examining the effects of socio-economic class in deliberation, the quality of deliberation, and the quality of arguments in deliberation.

SSRI personnel
Ásdís Aðalbjörg Arnalds
Guðbjört Guðjónsdóttir
Guðlaug Júlía Sturludóttir
Guðný Gústafsdóttir
Guðný Bergþóra Tryggvadóttir
Guðrún Axfjörð Elínardóttir
Hafsteinn Birgir Einarsson
Helgi Guðmundsson
Hrafnhildur Snæfríðar- og Gunnarsdóttir
Inga Rún Sæmundsdóttir
María Lovísa Guðjónsdóttir
Sindri Baldur Sævarsson
Stefán Gunnarsson
Ævar Þórólfsson

Guðný Gústafsdóttir
Oddur Þorri Viðarsson
Páll Rafnar Þorsteinsson
Páll Þórhallsson
Salvör Nordal
Sjöfn Vilhelmsdóttir
Stefán Gunnarsson
Valgerður Björk Pálsdóttir